Photo Challenge: Unusual

IMG_0691

The late father of my children and love of my life, reasoned, thought and wrote, in the very precisely bizarre manner of Lewis Carroll. Reading ‘Sylvie and Bruno’ is always surreal because I always wonder how there could possibly be two people in the world who actually think like that. What makes it more interesting is that he was born on the 70th anniversary of Lewis Carroll’s (Charles Lutwidge Dodson’) death. I was born and raised on Main Street, in a small town called Danbury, Connecticut. Danbury is nicknamed, Hat City because it was once the hat capital, boasting 57 hat factories (none, anymore). We found the references intriguing. (By-the-way, the chemicals used to cure the pelts that hats were made from, actually do cause eventual madness.)

Okay, so about this photo…

My son – who actually does wear a top hat, came over to visit one morning last winter, with the baby. So when we were talking, my then, 20-month old granddaughter Alice, snatched her father’s hat and plopped it on her head. She quickly discovered that she had more hat than head. Being as opportunistic as she, I grabbed my iPhone and started snapping. I am always digitally altering my artwork and I thought this particular photo of Alice would be fun to play with in that way. What makes it unusual to me is that it actually seems to accurately capture some of the essence of the surreal and whimsical essence of my family.

2 thoughts on “Photo Challenge: Unusual”

Leave a comment